Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

NOTICE: The Office of Regulatory Staff will be closed Monday, May 27, in observance of Memorial Day 

Recent News

Thu, 05/23/2019

Editor's note: The following is solely provided as a high level summary of the new act. It is not meant to constitute legal advice and the Office of Regulatory Staff is not responsible for any…

Mon, 05/20/2019

Personnel from the Office of Regulatory Staff's Amplify Life Equipment Distribution Program attended the Senior Citizen Day on May 8 at the South Carolina State Fairgrounds. The event was a…

Mon, 04/01/2019

The following is a message from ORS director of Safety, Transportation and Telecommunications Tom Allen on ensuring personal safety when utilizing regulated rideshare services:

Tue, 03/19/2019

Members of the Office of Regulatory Staff's South Carolina Equipment Distribution Program will be in Walterboro tomorrow, March 20, at the Colleton County Farmers Market & Museum for a Senior…

Tue, 02/26/2019

On Tuesday, March 5, representatives from the South Carolina Equipment Distribution Program (SCEDP) will appear at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine’s 2019 Assistive Technology…

Thu, 02/14/2019

The Public Service Commission of South Carolina (PSC) has announced the locations and dates of three public night hearings to be held in response to the application filed by Duke Energy Carolinas…

Fri, 02/08/2019

In preparation for two significant rate cases involving Duke Energy Carolinas (DEC) and Duke Energy Progress (DEP) in March and April 2019, respectively, the Office of Regulatory Staff has…

Tue, 02/05/2019

On June 27, 2018, the Aiken County Legislative Delegation requested the South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff (ORS) review the Natural Gas Rate Stabilization Act of 2005 and make…

Fri, 02/01/2019

GridLabs, a California-based nonprofit organization that provides technical expertise to policy makers on the design, operation and attributes of dynamic, large-scale grid systems, has issued a…

Mon, 01/14/2019

MEDIA ADVISORY: January 19, 2018

The following quote is attributable to executive director Nanette Edwards:

“The Office of Regulatory Staff is pleased the S.C.…

Wed, 01/02/2019

The Office of Regulatory Staff has filed a petition for reconsideration of certain aspects of the South Carolina Public Service Commission's determination in the SCANA/Dominion merger and…

Fri, 12/21/2018

On Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2018, the South Carolina Public Service Commission issued a ruling to disallow certain legal costs Carolina Water Service sought to pass along to customers through rates,…